"When dawn spreads its paintbrush on the plain, spilling purple... ," Sons of the Pioneers theme for TV show "Wagon Train." Dawn on the mythic Santa Fe Trail, New Mexico, looking toward Raton from Cimarron. -- Clarkphoto. A curmudgeon artist's musings melding metaphors and journalism, for readers in more than 150 countries.

Sunday, April 18, 2010

Journalism Hall of Fame, official photographs

Dennie Hall, myself, and Dr. Ray Tassin before the ribbon cutting on the 40th anniversary of the Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame--the old journalism geezer trio. Dr. Tassin founded the hall of fame, and the journalism department, and taught me reporting. Two out of three ain't bad.  --all photos courtesy Dan Smith, UCO photo services
The ribbon cutting for the new Oklahoma Journalism Hall of Fame April 9 on its 40th anniversary. The exhibition area is behind us. I thought it was fitting that founder Dr. Tassin cut the ribbon, with Dennie and I standing by. From left, Mass Comm Chair Roz Miller, Dean Pam Washington, 2010 inductee Bill Sherman of Tulsa World, the old journalism geezer trio, and  behind me, Mike Boettcher, CNN war correspondent and inductee, and inductees Gene Atkinson, Melba Lovelace of The Oklahoman, Jack Stone of the Anadarko Daily News, Sean Dyer of the El Reno Tribune, Andy Rieger of the Norman Transcript, and Ray Dyer of the El Reno Tribune.
Clark sounding important before the new logo.
Mike Boettcher of Ponca City talking about being a war correspondent in Afghanistan and elsewhere--"Don't get on your needs except to pray."
The 2010 honorees--from left, Ray Dyer, Jack Stone, Sean Dyer, Melba Lovelace, Bill Sherman, Susan Ellerbach, Gene Atkinson, Any Rieger and Mike Boettcher.

These are the kind of people who give me hope for journalism in America.
It's a pleasure to know them and work with them.

No comments:

Post a Comment

Note: Only a member of this blog may post a comment.